Telecommunicator Week

Privately I’m an author and horror enthusiast but professionally I’m a police and fire dispatcher for a small town outside of Nashville. I spend most of my days answering 911 calls, talking down distraught and disturbed people and sending help to those who need it. In seven years on the job I have tracked down felons, found lost children and talked suicidal people out of killing themselves. I have sent responders into danger and coordinated responses to crisis around the city. While very little physical danger is present, there is an appreciable mental and emotional strain put on every dispatcher. Few know that we exist and even fewer know what we really do. There is no respect for us within the emergency service community and even less appreciation for a job well done. I’m proud to do what I do and of the people I work with. Have a great Telecommunicator Week.

image

About Danno

Dan Lee is a horror fiction fiend, freelance writer and photographer living in the outer edge of a large, southern metropolis. His stories, articles, and photos have been featured in several ‘zines and websites and his fiction and other prose continues to be developed through this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

