Sometimes I really do think too much.

So I ended up working 13 hours today and in so doing talked to some of the most exquisitely simple people in the world. People, for instance, who can’t understand why their poor decision making has put them in a bad place and feel that it is the responsibility of a government entity (be it municipal, county, state or federal) to fix the problems they took a life time to create and to do so in a matter of minutes. As if this weren’t enough, the sense of entitlement that comes equipped in these people’s psyche is beyond comprehension. As a man who has more than once had to rely on the good graces of friends and family just to survive, I am nothing but thankful for the help and opportunities afforded me by some incredible people I have been fortunate enough to have in my life. Still, there are people in the world that expect everyone, yes EVERYONE, to go out of their way to provide a welfare state for them to live in. Subsidies and allotments to compensate for their refusal to learn, work and earn what they want and need allow generation after generation of wasteful, ungrateful moron to be born.

As if this wasn’t enough, I made the mistake of loitering off and on in cyberspace on social media sites. I realized, looking through my friends list that some of the people I have associated myself with over the years have become those above mentioned wasted morons suckling off society’s continuously giving, slowly withering teet. I further realized that the only reason I am still “friends” (and I use that word with so much liberty) is because I love the exquisite, Jerry Springer style train wreck that these people have become. It is a sick form of entertainment that I could easily get watching reruns of daytime talk shows and COPS. Still, it made me wonder what with all my rants and ravings about the perpetual collapse of modern society if some of the people who are still “friends” with me are watching the same sort of train wreck lifestyle in a much more boring form of The Truman Show?

Maybe I am just cranky and tired and over thinking as I am prone to do from time to time? Eh, who can say for sure? Regardless of anything I have said here tonight, I think a hot shower, a good night’s sleep and a decent breakfast in the morning will improve my day and move me forward into a (hopefully) happier week. In writing news I am working on the Charlie Stone short fiction collection and trying to finish up Undertaker for publication before the summer’s end. The great thing about being a writer in the 21st century is that dead lines are really a thing of the past if you blog or self publish. Until next time.

About Danno

Dan Lee is a horror fiction fiend, freelance writer and photographer living in the outer edge of a large, southern metropolis. His stories, articles, and photos have been featured in several ‘zines and websites and his fiction and other prose continues to be developed through this blog.
This entry was posted in Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

