Things You Need To Do

Been thinking a lot lately about the things I need to do in my life and that really wouldn’t hurt anyone to try. We spend all our time in such a hurry, racing to and fro, moving and shaking that we forget to live. Here is a list of things I intend to do. Some of them I plan to make habits out of.

Read a book that shakes you to your core.

Enjoy a work of art even if the meaning eludes you.

Show the people you love how much they mean to you.

Go for a walk in the woods to admire the glorious wonder of nature.

Write a poem, even if it sucks.

Spend a day in bed making love to a gorgeous woman.

Accept that you are greater than your demons and make peace in your heart.

Cook your favorite meal and enjoy it with a good wine or a decent beer.

Turn off the radio and listen to the music of the city, the country and all the spaces in between.

Have a pointless argument over the inconsequential then laugh with your opponent over the absurdity.

Meditate in the cool autumn air as the sun sinks into the hills.

Whisper to those who you’ve lost and feel their reply in the wind and in your bones.

But above all else…

Dream. Day dream. Fantasize. Let your imagination run away with you once in a while and take you places you would never have found otherwise.

I forgot all these things and the stress and turmoil I created tried to kill me from the inside. I’m happy to have the chances I have to live and love and hurt and win and lose. I’m happy for the comforts and the pains because one is a blessing and the other an even greater blessing. The day is meaningless without the night.

There, I’ve been poetic for the day. Now, smile firmly intact across my lips, I’m going to go and dream a little dream.

About Danno

Dan Lee is a horror fiction fiend, freelance writer and photographer living in the outer edge of a large, southern metropolis. His stories, articles, and photos have been featured in several ‘zines and websites and his fiction and other prose continues to be developed through this blog.
This entry was posted in Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

