HIATUS… or maybe just a night off?

I debated all day about whether or not I was going to put the blog on an indefinite hiatus tonight. Truth is, it seems like the only time I write anything at all anymore is when I log into this blog and the only things I’ve written as of late are classified by me as rants. This page is meant to be a launch pad for my career as an author, not another place where Danno goes to vent his frustration about the mental and emotional shortcomings of his peers. Also, I’m still trying to recover from the pancreatitis that hospitalized me and left me in a pretty bad way in October. While nothing like it was, I am still dealing with pains relating to it on a daily basis and found out from speaking to a doctor that this may continue for months to come given the nature of the ailment and the fact that it was largely caused by high stress and poor diet; two things that, given the career that puts the fast food on my coffee table at the moment, are unlikely to change in any major way any time soon.

Now, that depressing little thought aside, back to the hiatus. So, an indefinite hiatus added to my depression. Go on hiatus, get lazy and never actually do anything again is the only thought process that went through my mind when the idea hit me. I also toyed with the notion of going on a holiday sabbatical until after New Year but, again, the same dilemma arose. If I take a break now when my writing is continuing to improve and I am starting to get a feel for how to operate and maintain the site I may not be able to pick it back up with the same ease as before. I don’t feel like having to relearn what I have about WP nor do I have any inclination to shut off what could eventually be a great tool to market my work to readers.

I’m exhausted. I slept for crap and worked a long shift and I’m contemplating a return to the wonderful world of security work (part time) in order to bring in a little extra cash that will likely be needed come the first of the year. As such, focusing on the actual nature of this post is difficult at best.

Yes, that’s it! I was going to say that, while my posts will be short(er) and more sporadic than usual, I will be continuing to update the blog. My main focus is, and always should be, my writing. Undertaker is coming along nicely. I have a rough outline of the changes to be made and the new prologue should help this novella 10 years in the making become a reality. Also working on revising a few other short pieces and novelettes that I will -hopefully- be seeking publication for come the start of 2014. The last few years have been rough and, specifically, the last 8 months of my life have been hell. But, for the first time in my adult life the path is clear and coming into view. I know what I want and I am out there trying to make my dreams a reality. Keep reading because I can promise you you’ll be happy you stuck around. 

Started a Z-Short tonight titled Schrodinger’s Dilemma. Hoping to have it drafted and on the site by the end of next week.

About Danno

Dan Lee is a horror fiction fiend, freelance writer and photographer living in the outer edge of a large, southern metropolis. His stories, articles, and photos have been featured in several ‘zines and websites and his fiction and other prose continues to be developed through this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

