That Random 2AM Update

Because my brain only seems to function when under extreme duress or lack of oxygenation, here I am, updating the blog and working on some drafts of stories that I’ve written over the last year but just haven’t seen fit to type up or edit. Some are flash pieces and others are closer to novella length. A few are reprints but most are brand new. Schrodinger’s Dilemma has been sent away for publication and I’m just waiting for the editor of the ‘zine to get back with me as to whether or not they want it. Pick Up Line may be seeing a revival in another online publication and, as all this is going on I find myself dabbling with other ideas and styles. A few flash pieces I’ve written in recent months have been outside the realm of horror and science fiction and closer to that golden paradise of “legitimate” fiction. Yes, as an author and a fan I should not qualify my genre fiction as “illegitimate” but the number of scifi/horror novels and stories that remain as classic literature are few and far between. With obvious exceptions being made by science fiction/spec. fiction greats like Ray Bradbury, Neil Gaiman, and Terry Pratchett, the vast majority of genre fiction falls by the wayside in the shadow of authors like Ernest Hemingway or John Steinbeck.

This isn’t to say that I think literary (or “legitimate) fiction is better. In fact, I write genre fiction because I’d rather see monsters and devils plaguing mankind in allegorical forms to help us see the error of our ways as a society than to live my life watching the suffering and evil of mankind only to have it thrown once more in my face by other authors and artists. I mean, if I wanted to hear how terrible humanity was and that we were all doomed to an eternity of damnation and suffering for the wicked way we’re born, I’d rejoin the church.

Anyway, now that I’ve rambled off on a tangent and likely inflamed someone’s sensibilities, back to my original point. More flash fiction, short fiction, rants, posts, and even a few articles…maybe, are on the way soon to the blog. If I can manage to get on paper the things that are buzzing in my head right now, I think you’ll find yourself in for a  treat.

In the meantime, we’re only nine days away from Halloween. I’m so excited I can’t stand it!

1029031907e

NINE…DAYS…LEFT!

About Danno

Dan Lee is a horror fiction fiend, freelance writer and photographer living in the outer edge of a large, southern metropolis. His stories, articles, and photos have been featured in several ‘zines and websites and his fiction and other prose continues to be developed through this blog.
This entry was posted in Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

