The Plan

Look at it. Ain't it pretty?!

Look at it. Ain’t it pretty?!

Well, by 3:30 in the afternoon Central time, A Thousand Little Deaths will be available as an Ebook from Amazon for the very affordable, some might even say “bargain” price of $1. That includes an author’s preface and a never before published short story that served as partial inspiration for the novelette itself. I mean, come on, that’s got to be worth a dollar. That said, if all goes well and I can drum up enough interest in the story, really make it sell online between now and the end of the year, I’ll be opening up 2016 with a kick starter campaign to get the funding to actually release it in paperback format. That’s right, you read that correctly. I’m going about this my way, trying to get my work out there to as many people as possible and I’d love to really see it in print. But, as anyone who knows me or who has been reading this blog over the last two years knows, I am a bit of a train wreck as a human being and my plans don’t always come together as I’d hope.

So let’s run down a few of the facts right now as they are:

The story itself will remain on the blog in serial format just as it has been. It’s actually why I am taking this particular project the self publishing route. I put it up here to get my work out there and try to draw in an audience. If you’ve been faithful enough to my work to read it and follow it, I owe it to you to leave it right where it is. That doesn’t mean you shouldn’t buy the Ebook, though. On the contrary, I did some cleaning up to the dialogue and added in the original short piece that inspired it to the Ebook. Plus, you can download a copy to your device and read it regardless of your access to the internet or this blog.

Next, you’re probably wondering what incentive you have to donate to an actual print version of the work or to buy a print version of the story. Here is how I look at that. Donating to the cause does a few things. It helps the author (that’s me) cut down on the personal expense of the project which is a good thing. Writing is my passion and this will be a labor of love but I don’t make a living yet off my writing and I’ve got bills to pay and mouths to feed just like everyone else. Next, there is plenty that will be in it for you. When/if I get ready to try to get a print version of this started, contributors will get a signed copy of the finished book. Also kicking around ideas for folks who contribute significantly large amounts to the cause. I’m thinking and I’m sure I’ll come up with something by January.

So, wrapping this up, I need a lot of help and support from folks. Please, read the serial, buy a copy on Amazon, tell yours friends and PLEASE share the blog on whatever social media you prefer. Send a link in a mass email or text to everyone you know. Spray paint it on the side of a building near you. I mean, I’m a largely word of mouth author here. Help me shamelessly promote myself.

The book is a buck, it’s probably some of my best work in years and you will enjoy every minute of it. Don’t believe me? Well, there’s only one way to be sure.

-Dan

About Danno

Dan Lee is a horror fiction fiend, freelance writer and photographer living in the outer edge of a large, southern metropolis. His stories, articles, and photos have been featured in several ‘zines and websites and his fiction and other prose continues to be developed through this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

