Ghost Stories

So I haven’t shared this story with many folks before tonight but, I was sifting through the comments on a paranormal page and the admin wanted readers to share their personal stories about paranormal encounters. I was in a mood and decided, what the hell, and posted mine.

When I was a little kid, maybe about four or five, I used to play with the “shadow man” that lived in my grandmother’s house. In the L shaped hallway that ran from the kitchen to all the bedrooms he used to stand at the far end corner leading to the last bedroom and motion for me to come down the hall and join him. He stood almost as tall as the the ceiling and was little more than a blurry silhouette, like a picture trying to fight its way through static on a television screen. I’d stand at the end of the hall and debate about it and then charge down at the other end, intent to catch him. Just before I could reach the corner he would duck down towards the back bedroom and vanish. Usually, the room was dark with the shutters closed and lights off. I couldn’t see him but I could feel him there, looking at me, asking me to come join him. It would turn the thrill of the chase into a sudden, visceral terror and I’d run back up front into the living room.

Twenty five years later, I still go to that house and still feel as if he’s watching me from the end of the hall, motioning me to come and join him.

About Danno

Dan Lee is a freelance writer, horror fiction author and independent publisher, and horror culture correspondent living in a small town outside a major Southern metropolis. His articles, interviews, editorials, and fictional works continue to run on several sites and publications. He is also one of the resurrectionists behind the return of the Nashville Zombie Walk (2017).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

