Situation Normal

So, at work today I noticed my eye was feeling a bit weird but I chalked it up to allergies and went about my business as usually. A couple hours into shift the rest of my face felt weird. I turned my camera around on my phone and watched myself blink. My right eye wasn’t moving correctly. I decided to smile. Only one side of my face attempted it. Now, working in emergency service, I’d love to say that I don’t scare easy but the truth is I’d felt weird all day and now, with one side of my face completely unresponsive to me, I freaked the hell out. My partners called an ambulance and began checking me for signs of a stroke as that was what I was initially convinced was happening to me. Medics found my blood pressure was high and wanted to take me to the ER but, having better life insurance than health insurance, I declined and hitched a ride instead. A CT scan and some more testing showed that I had Bell’s Palsy and not a stroke or similar brain problem. The situation itself will correct in about six weeks but could result in further facial paralysis and may even swap sides of my face before it’s done. This will include my eye refusing to close and not being able to easily do some things like drink or eat without dribbling on myself. On top of the actual problem itself comes the embarrassment of going to the ER because I got droopy face. I keep laughing because it’s such a ridiculous situation. Anyway, I’ve got lots of time on my hands tonight to write so maybe something good will come of this.

This is how I smile now...for at least six weeks.

This is how I smile now…for at least six weeks.

About Danno

Dan Lee is a horror fiction fiend, freelance writer and photographer living in the outer edge of a large, southern metropolis. His stories, articles, and photos have been featured in several ‘zines and websites and his fiction and other prose continues to be developed through this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

