The Print Run (Another Shameless Plug)

1d0d8fd44b8a36a359e72f21a781bdf0579fa406

I’ve been doing a lot of self promotion lately and for good reason. Like an actor or  musician, a writer has to sell himself in order to find work, to make a living, and to make it possible to create and audience for his work. No one ever got anywhere by sitting around and hoping that someone noticed. I went to the Jackalope Brewing Company this afternoon and watched a good friend of my perform. Back in Five Minutes is a great group with singers/songwriters/sisters Ashley and Chris Maze at the front of the group. I’ve been listening to these talented women sing for fifteen years in one capacity or another and I have to say that I’m never disappointed to see them perform. Like me, they’re working in their medium to share their art, that little piece of their souls that they can put on page and let out in the form of music for folks like you and me.

I’m doing the same thing here tonight on this blog, talking to you, sharing with you my stories, that piece of my creative spark that comes through in some rather strange and deranged ways but comes through none the less. I’m preparing sometime in late January or February to start some form of kickstarter or gofundme page to try and make some money to do a print run of two very special items to me: A Thousand Little Deaths and Undertaker. Electronic books and magazines are great. They’re cheap enough to be affordable to almost anyone who wants them and, for writers, it’s both the most popular and arguably easiest way to get published. Companies like Amazon and Smashwords make it easy to take your work and make it available to a huge audience. The unfortunate trade off, though, is that literally anyone can do it which means you have to wade through some terrible titles sometimes to find a gem. It’s really the same way with anything, especially after it hits the internet, but still it can make it hard for the good stuff to make it to the forefront. There’s a great tactile pleasure that comes from picking up a book or magazine, opening the pages, and enjoying the words and pictures printed there.

So, here is what I’m doing in the interim as I price out what it will cost to print and market this double feature: I’m working my ass off to drum up interest in my work. Quarter Reads, Devolution Z, Hello Horror, anywhere that my stories are available to read I’m trying to get more people interested. And, while you’re at it, don’t just read my stuff, read everyone’s stuff on those sites. There are a lot of us out their, scorned and burned and turned off from traditional publishers to the point where, if not for the internet we’d still be completely unknown and our work would be limited only to the handful of friends and relatives willing to take a look at it. I’m not greedy or anything. I’m not looking to make a fortune or become famous. I just want to know that my stories are entertaining more than just me, that my characters are alive and in the hearts and minds of readers.

Help a guy out. Follow me on Facebook and on Instagram. Share links and stories with as many folks as you can. Word of mouth is still one of the most powerful ways to market anything to anyone in this day and age.

I’ll keep you posted on my endeavor to publish some actual hard copies of some books. In the meantime, read the rest of my scattered library of work and check out all the other talented authors on those sites and  magazines. Links are in the Necronomanclature link up in the toolbar. Go on. Go check it out.

Okay. That’s it. Done selling myself out like a discount hooker on a Tuesday.

About Danno

Dan Lee is a horror fiction fiend, freelance writer and photographer living in the outer edge of a large, southern metropolis. His stories, articles, and photos have been featured in several ‘zines and websites and his fiction and other prose continues to be developed through this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

