Zombie Walk: Continued

 

A representative of GMX emailed me this evening about my interest in organizing the Nashville Zombie Walk. This was my response:

I appreciate you getting back to me. I’d definitely be interested in organizing one but, truthfully, I’m not certain there’s any way to do it for 2016. I’ve really been looking at this over the last few days and between finding sponsors, insurance, permits, and advertising it’s a massive undertaking. Also, looking at the downtown schedule for October, the only decent day to try and do it (that wouldn’t overlap GMX) seems to be October 15th which gives organizers 3 weeks to put something together. I want to do this, but I feel like it deserves more time and effort to plan. I’d rather see supporters of the event have to wait an extra year for something spectacular as opposed to racing and having a mediocre event.

My first question is who am I getting involved with if I become an organizer? I know you said it’s more a group of fans running their own conventions but I’d like to know the dynamics of the association. I’d also like to know what caused the 2015 walk to fall through? Was it just a scheduling conflict or was it a conflict within the association that I might have to contend with later on?

Like I said, I am interested in organizing the event but I have concerns that doing it on such short notice would be a disservice to supporters and participants.

Also, I apologize for my inflammatory Instagram post which started this entire thing. Several of us have heard rumors over the last year that it was somehow GMX’s involvement in the Zombie Walk that resulted in it not happening last year.

Again, I appreciate your email and I look forward to your reply.

 

 I hope you caught that italicized portion. If not, let me say it again. I’d rather see supporters of the event have to wait an extra year for something spectacular as opposed to racing and having a mediocre event. I am dead set that come hell or high water I will be participating in another amazing zombie walk through downtown Nashville but there is a lot that goes into putting one on. A lot more, in fact, than most people realize. Just take a look at this Zombie Walk Handbook from the World Zombie Day Organization. Permits from Metro-Nashville to hold the walk downtown. Insurance for the dozens to thousands of participants. And then there is the matter of trying promote it so that people actually show up. Hell, it’s tensing me up just writing about it. Seriously, I’ve been working for 2 days, planning and plotting and routing and mapping out every potential way that I could assemble this and, for a man with a full time job and a family, it’s a labor of love that is going to require a little bit longer than three weeks.

My best estimate is a full 3 months. This gives you a chance to set the date, get the permits, get the sponsorship so you can pay for the insurance and advertise so that people actually come out. And we want people turning out for this. One of the major things that the Nashville Zombie Walk has always done is collect canned food and non perishables for the Second Harvest Food Bank. It’s not just about coming out, being weird, and having a good time. There’s an element of helping out other people attached to this event that gives it heart. Trying to rush and throw together something in a matter of a few weeks would be a disaster and would likely doom the event forever.

What I’m suggesting, asking, pleading even is to be patient. Last year we all got screwed hard on this. No walk. No explanation. Not even the courtesy of a “fuck you” from whoever was in charge of the FB page. This year, people are working on it and trying to bring it back to life.

More updates coming soon.

 

 

 

About Danno

Dan Lee is a horror fiction fiend, freelance writer and photographer living in the outer edge of a large, southern metropolis. His stories, articles, and photos have been featured in several ‘zines and websites and his fiction and other prose continues to be developed through this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

