A Little Bit More About The Nashville Zombie Walk

rotld_promo


So, as most of you read last night I am now the organizer of The Nashville Zombie Walk. For those who haven’t been following this, let me give you a brief history of how this happened. Last year when October passed without so much as a word about the annual event, I began digging a bit to try and find information on what had happened. See, visiting the website I determined that the event was connected to the same group(s) that put on MTAC and GMX every year and remembering that GMX had been a major sponsor in the past, I spoke to various GMX promoters at events as well as emailing and Facebook messaging those that I could involved with the zombie walk. Either no one had an answer or no one would respond. Fast forward to the end of September of this year. So frustrated with the complete lack of communication between organizers of The Nashville Zombie Walk and fans as well as the rumored involvement of GMX in killing the event, I went on a tirade bashing GMX and its associates for killing the walk. I assumed that this would be more of a venting exercise than anything.

I was wrong.

Within a few hours I was contacted by members of GMX who, after some conversation, explained to me that the organizers they had worked with during the 2014 zombie walk had apparently bailed on the event for 2015 and, unable to find anyone else to organize the event had left GMX/MTAC effectively holding the bag. The organization, not really understanding the devotion of the fan base, allowed the Z-Walk to fall by the wayside as they focused on their larger events. They explained further that they would be happy to hand over the event if someone was willing to organize it. After a day or so of considering, I said I’d do it. Now, a few weeks later, I am simply waiting for the website domain and social media to be transferred over to me so I can begin on reviving the event.

All this boils down to is one of those good news, bad news situations. The good news is that there will be a Nashville Zombie Walk in the future. The bad news is that it won’t be happening in 2016. As I’ve said in a couple of other posts, the actual organization of an event like this is huge and requires a lot of permits, insurance, planning, sponsorship/funding, blah, blah, blah. It’s exhausting just writing that. So the plans are already underway.

As soon as the web presence is handed off, I’m going to begin assembling a team of volunteers to help me in the actual organization of the event. Then come all the permitting, insuring and sponsorship I just spoke about. Now, that being the case, we have an entire year to plan this event and I intend to make it the biggest and best zombie walk we’ve ever seen. Ideally, I’d like to set up to do some costume contests, work with local makeup artists to do zombie makeup at the event, and being Nashville, find musicians who can turn this into a horror/zombie celebration. The walk will still focus on gathering non-perishable food donations for Second Harvest while also aiming to be an event in mid-October to celebrate Halloween. Also, I’m looking at potentially hosting a smaller event in Nashville in the spring, sort of an undead fundraiser so we don’t have to sell as much of the event to corporate sponsors as in years past.

Again, all this is only now in the planning stages but we’re going to make it happen. We’re going to make Nashville strange again.

If you’re interested in contributing to the event by helping with promotion, have experience organizing such an event, or just want to show your support, email:

Music City Zombies

-Danno

 

 

 

About Danno

Dan Lee is a horror fiction fiend, freelance writer and photographer living in the outer edge of a large, southern metropolis. His stories, articles, and photos have been featured in several ‘zines and websites and his fiction and other prose continues to be developed through this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

