Stories, Stories, Stories!

I’ve been working really hard lately to find me a new career, one specifically in the field of writing where I might be able to make a little bit of money. I’ve done up a resume and portfolio of my work, made business cards, stalked message boards that look for freelancers, started reaching out to publishers and special events in the horror/science fiction community, and I’ve even offered reasonable rates on a lease-to-own agreement for my soul. Unfortunately, none of my self marketing has netted any job offers, freelance contracts, or even the sales of any new copies of my book. While it’s more than a little disheartening to spend so much time and effort looking for my dream job and trying to promote myself as an artist, and I haven’t earned a dime in months from it, there have still been some pretty substantial and tangible gains over the last year.

To begin with, behold my shameless self promotion!

bookcoverimage

A Thousand Little Deaths began as an online serial in 2014 that became such a hit for the blog that last year I collected all the chapters, did some editing, and released it as an eBook. For just $1.00 you can have your very own digital copy of this incredible book full of dark, sarcastic humor, gore, and monsters. Not big on eBooks? Don’t worry, it’s in print too for the considerably higher price of $5.75 but it’s well worth the money if you like having something you can hold in your hands. Perfect as a stocking stuffer for the horror nerd in your life. It’s a short read, yeah, but it’s also an introduction into a larger universe of short stories that I’m actively seeking publication for including…

Hello Horror Issue 20

img_20161031_193927

I had a flash piece called Pick Up Line that was picked up by the free online ‘zine in 2013 for their 3rd issue and an abridged version of my short story The Question appears in their fall collection. It’s another story set in the strange, kudzu swallowed foothills of Tennessee and a part of the larger universe of otherworldly, other dimensional monsters trying desperately to swallow our reality into their own.

I still have a story being featured on Deadman’s Tome, another great online horror publication full of great stories by talented authors. Earlier this year they published my story Schrodinger’s Dilemma about a man at the edge of the apocalypse asking that famous question about the cat in the box with a macabre twist. Like everyone else in this field of fiction, Deadman’s Tome is also in the midst of a campaign to raise money for marketing. This will also allow them to offer small –small– payments to authors. You should check out their GoFundMe campaign and contribute.

PDI_small_150ht

I’ve also been fortunate enough in the last year to start doing some more editorial and journalistic work writing regularly for Psycho Drive-In with my column Beautiful Creatures as well as contributions to other columns and reviews. The folks at PDI are also planning some pretty cool, fiction related offerings around the first of the year that I’ll be sharing here I’ve also been tapped to start writing in the coming weeks for another great horror site called 52 Weeks of Horror. This will be more articles and some short stories as well. You need to check out both of these sites as they have some of the most amazing web content currently out there for horror fans. Fangoria and Rue Morgue may have bigger budgets and larger readership (for now) but you’ll be hard pressed to find the quality and passion you’ll get from Psycho Drive-In and 52 Weeks of Horror.

So, yeah, I’m still making jack shit and struggling as an author, but the struggle’s a little more pleasant now that I’m writing with people who share the same passion for the strange and macabre as I do. Check out the links, read some stories, and share the hell out of it with everyone you know.

-Danno

 

About Danno

Dan Lee is a freelance writer, horror fiction author and independent publisher, and horror culture correspondent living in a small town outside a major Southern metropolis. His articles, interviews, editorials, and fictional works continue to run on several sites and publications. He is also one of the resurrectionists behind the return of the Nashville Zombie Walk (2017).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

