A Nashville Zombie Walk Update

I hope everyone had a great [insert holiday here]. I wanted to let you know where we stand right now on resurrecting the Nashville Zombie Walk in 2017.

rotld_promo

Currently, I am working on getting the official webpage transferred over so that we can start updating and posting there as well as on social media. I’m also working on starting a crowd sourcing campaign to raise the money needed to put on the event without having to seek out sponsors. There are lots of reasons for trying to do this, not the least of which being that this is OUR event. You and me and that weird guy in the corner that no one really remembers inviting…this is OUR zombie walk and we shouldn’t have to sell it just to keep it alive. I want to see this be an event that each and every one of us owns and has some sort of personal stake in. That said, if the crowd sourcing fails, I’ll eat these words, suck up my pride, and go find us some appropriate sponsors who will help us raise the money we need.

That’s the main problem with hosting a zombie walk, by the way. You have a great cause (The Second Harvest Food Bank) and you have a fun and exciting event full of amazing people (you guys) but everyone else wants a piece of it. Permits have to be obtained and approved through the city which takes time and cash and then insurance for the event has to be purchased at almost twice the amount of the permit costs. Then, of course, comes advertising and before long I go from feeling like some dude trying to dress up like a cadaver and have some fun to feeling like a corporate shill myself putting on a tie and meeting people face-to-face.

Bleck!

With all that in mind, I have routes mapped out, I have a date and time (tentatively) set, and I am working on prizes for costume contests before the walk starts as well as a couple of other spooky surprises. Keeping all that in mind, we are going to have this walk if we have to literally raise the dead in order to do it! If you’ve ever been responsible, in part or in whole for putting together a zombie walk and want to reach out with advice or even to help put this on, please feel free to email me at Music City Zombies and get on board. Also, we’re still working on drumming up some content for the Instagram account and, since I’m about half stupid with Facebook, if you want to send in pictures or stories about past experiences at the Nashville Zombie Walk to be featured on the IG or Facebook pages, please email them to me at Music City Zombies. If you’ve already been sending this stuff to me, please refer back to where I pointed out I’m social media illiterate and know that I will (eventually) get it posted. More stuff coming soon. 

-Danno

 

About Danno

Dan Lee is a freelance writer, horror fiction author and independent publisher, and horror culture correspondent living in a small town outside a major Southern metropolis. His articles, interviews, editorials, and fictional works continue to run on several sites and publications. He is also one of the resurrectionists behind the return of the Nashville Zombie Walk (2017).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Nashville Zombie Walk Update

  1. I am down with the dead!!! I would be happy to help anyway i can.

Leave a Reply

