Engagement

If you’ve been following this blog over the last four years or so, you’ve no doubt noticed some tumultuousness in my personal life coming across the postings. In between my regular rants, reviews, and promotion of my fiction and other writing, I’ve told you about some of the loss and heartache I’ve experienced. From a gut wrenching (and utterly strange) divorce and the loss of my home to the passing of my grandfather and the lingering ghosts of people I’ve lost after a decade in emergency service. That said, there’s been a lot of joy on here. Fr0m my first freelance jobs working for Aquiline, PDI, and 52 Weeks to the publishing of A Thousand Little Deaths and Those Things’ll Kill Ya’ I’ve had quite a bit of success with my writing in the last few years. But nothing can compare to last night.

I’ve talked about my girlfriend Maggie a few times in this blog, about her sweetness and her encouragement as I continue to make my passion for writing into my life. She’s brought about changes in me, helped me realize truths about myself and my life that might have gone unrecognized without her. I swore I’d never be in any committed relationship ever again and then I met her and decided I didn’t want to be with anyone but her. I swore I’d never fall in love again, never risk my heart and my emotions with anyone ever again but the words “I love you” flow so naturally when I’m with her that I can’t imagine ever wanting to be closed off. I swore I’d never marry after my first marriage ended so terribly but, last night, I took an arrow to the knee and asked her to be my bride.

5e8bbee820a45feb70c6b5afdec3d4ad

Our friend Tom was kind enough to help me arrange the surprise proposal. Tom is a talented musician with a studio in the basement of his home. The acoustics are amazing and travel through the entire house whenever he plays and made it the perfect place for the proposal to happen. Candles were lit along the stairs leading down to the piano room. My son Dennis and our friends Jeff and Monica’s youngest son’s stood on one side of the hallway holding flowers to give to her before she entered the room where their daughter Elly was using my camera to record the moment. Tom began playing a piano rendition of The Old 97s Question as Maggie walked into the house and descended the stairs. He began to sing as she stepped into the room. She was shaking, her lips quivering and I could feel the shock and surprise radiating from her.

“Some day somebody’s gonna ask you a question that you should say ‘yes’ to, once in your life,” Tom sang as Maggie tried -and failed- to hold back her tears. “Maybe tonight, Dan’s got a question for you?”

In front of everyone, I professed my love to her. The way I feel about her is absolutely no secret and I’ll tell anyone who asks that meeting her is one of the best things to have happened to me in my adult life. Holding her hand, I took a knee and asked her to marry me.

I0gClCc

As you may have guessed by now, she said “Yes” and a new chapter of my life…our life has started.

When I stood up we kissed and I knew without any possibility of a doubt that I had made the right choice. There’s an energy that exists in people, that burns or simmers when they meet and connect. As soon as I held her there was this incredible surge of warmth from my head to my toes and this feeling of connection, of unity was something more incredible than I can find words to describe.

The ring itself is two mermaids holding a stone. She loves mermaids and something traditional just wouldn’t do for such a wonderfully weird woman as my Maggie.

ring

So, yeah, when I’ve said “exciting things are happening here” I didn’t just mean on the blog. That said, now that I’ve gushed on and on about my romantic life, I solemnly promise that I will begin cranking out horror related everything on here.

-Danno

About Danno

Dan Lee is a freelance writer, horror fiction author and independent publisher, and horror culture correspondent living in a small town outside a major Southern metropolis. His articles, interviews, editorials, and fictional works continue to run on several sites and publications. He is also one of the resurrectionists behind the return of the Nashville Zombie Walk (2017).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

