2017 – So Much Awesome!

I’ve done lots of interviews and reviews in the last few months for Psycho Drive-In and 52 Weeks of Horror and, I’ve got to say that as a horror fan, I’m thoroughly excited about some of the projects I’ve talked about. First of all, thanks to the production crews and creative minds behind Friday the 13th Part 3: The Memoriam Documentary and WompStomp’s short film Never Hike Alone, I’ve been falling in love with the slasher subgenre of horror all over again, particularly Friday the 13th and Hatchet franchises.

NeverHikeAlone_2

PROco PROduction Company and their film Puppet, Radical Arts production of Evil Dead: The Musical, and actress/writer/director Jennifer Nangle (and her alter ego Malvolia the Queen of Screams) have inspired me to finally start working on some of my own ambitions as an amateur filmmaker and screen writer while David Black of Darkness Visible provided some of the most poignant and uplifting words of encouragement with his interview about the band’s upcoming music video/short film Breaking Point (press release at the bottom of post).

Andreas Ronning and his brain child Z for Zombie and my surprise publication in Unoriginal #4 (as well as more appearances in Hello Horror) have further bolstered my belief that with perseverance and work I can make my dreams as an author a reality while projects like the soon to be announced collection from PDI Press (the publishing arm of Psycho Drive-In) are actually bringing these dreams to life. Meanwhile, thanks to Aquiline Photography Magazine (which I swear, Tracy, I will have a piece for you soon) I have an outlet for my more editorial and genre neutral thoughts to take flight.

No, I still haven’t quit my day job to write full time and I’m definitely not making any kind of substantial income. But that’s not why I’m doing it. That’s not why anyone I’ve mentioned is doing it. Yeah, some are closer than others to making a living out of their craft than others, but we’re all of us doing it for the same reason: because we love it. Photography, modeling, music, acting, filmmaking, performance, drawing, and of course writing are all arts and the arts are what make civilization so meaningful. They inspire, uplift, and give us a safe way to view ourselves and our society, to gauge ourselves as a collective of people and choose the direction we want to move for our future.

I’d love to make it out to L.A. and get a chance to work with some of the talented and incredible people I’ve met over the last year. I’d love to see some of my stories popularized in the horror community and to make a name for myself in the field of strange fiction. I’d love the chance to meet and even work with some of my idols like Adam Green and Bruce Campbell and to bring life to the unusual and macabre on page and screen. That said, if the most I ever accomplish is a handful of printed works, an introduction to some talented and amazing people, and this blog, I’ll be just as happy.

Coming up in the next week or so I intend to have dual reviews for PDI and 52WoH on The Void as well as We Go On. Hopefully, I’ll also get another entry made into Random Fears on the blog and have time left to continue working my ongoing draft Altar of the Sun. Check out the links scattered through the post for all these incredible people and projects and be sure to keep following Psycho Drive-In, 52 Weeks of Horror, and Danno of the Dead Blog for information about the upcoming Nashville Zombie Walk because there are some genuinely cool things happening with that event.

bsncrd

A Thousand Little Deaths is still available in digital and print and I’m still available as a freelance writer if anyone is interested in hiring me. . Just check out the links in the menu of the blog for Necronomenclature and Summoning the Author.

bookcoverimage

Lots of great things are happening in 2017 so keep checking in for updates.

-Danno

 

About Danno

Dan Lee is a freelance writer, horror fiction author and independent publisher, and horror culture correspondent living in a small town outside a major Southern metropolis. His articles, interviews, editorials, and fictional works continue to run on several sites and publications. He is also one of the resurrectionists behind the return of the Nashville Zombie Walk (2017).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

